Whew!  The weekend is finally here!  It’s been a very busy week in the Trevena household.  Here are a few of the things we were up to this last week:

1.) We finally got a new fridge!  Muscle man Nick and big, strong Uncle Sean helped move our current fridge to the basement (beer fridge!) and took the old non-working fridge to the refrigerator graveyard.  Now let’s see how long I can keep the new one organized?

Out with the old (to the basement) and in with the new!

It’s always disturbing to see what’s behind the refrigerator.

Do we really need this many condiments?  I mean, really?

2.) I make all of Cal’s food which has been really fun but also somewhat time-consuming.  I’m not sure if I will have the time with the other kids (God-willing we have them) but this has been a goal of mine since I found out the Baby Bear was on board.  This week for breakfasts I made some homemade “Sunrise Quinoa” for Cal.  It tastes better than it looks here.  Pretty simple, quinoa, mangos & apples puree for Mr. Cal.

Sunrise Quinoa

3.)  Thursday was spent volunteering through work with Heart & Hammers.  We were able to help 81-year-old Dorothy of Minneapolis fix up and stain her fence, spruce up and redo the edging on all of her landscape beds, powerwash and paint her house and garage and other misc. projects.  Here is a before and after and some other shots.

BEFORE- Front of the House

BEFORE- Garage

AFTER- Front of the House

AFTER- Garden

Dorothy was so appreciative of everyone’s dedication and efforts to make her house a little better.  It’s amazing what 30 people can do in a few hours!

4.) Later that night I finally put my money where my mouth is (not sure if that’s the right expression) and volunteered with MN United for all Families and made calls to undecided voters about the upcoming election and the important vote on the ballot.  I have a lot I could say on this topic but I’ll try to keep it short and sweet.  I understand and appreciate the committment of marriage.  I myself am married, my parents have been married for 30 years and my Grandparents for nearly 60 years.   I don’t know who my son will be but if he does grow up to be a gay man I want him to have the same rights and opportunities his parents, grandparents and great-grandparents have had.  Love is love and there’s no way I want to spread anything but LOVE for my son and future generations to come.

VOTE NO- Thanks to my hubby who surprised me with the sign in our yard one day after work.

5.) Last but not least, Calvin is keeping his parents very busy these days!  He is crawling around (army crawl)  like a maniac and it’s very clear that Cal’s world has become much bigger and he’s loving it!  Here is one of his new favorite “toys”, his new toothbrush.

Cal Trevena, DDS.?

Healthy teeth are no laughing matter Mom!

The agenda for the weekend, babyproofing and a trip to the apple orchard!

