He loves this little guy…. a lot!

It was my Dad’s Birthday on Saturday so in honor of him I thought I would share this story from last week.  Happy Birthday Papa J, don’t be too angry with me for sharing!

Calvin is a horrible sleeper.   I mean getting up three times after 10:00 p.m. is a common occurrence, two times is a “really good night!”  Not sleeping for nine months really takes a toll on my mental stability.  A few weeks ago I lost my keys at work and after 20 minutes I finally found them in the break room refrigerator.  That pretty much sums it up.  Add Cal’s immunizations, a flu shot and teething to the mix and it’s a whole new ugly ball-game of sleep deprivation.

On Tuesday night I had been up with Cal too many times to count and was becoming a bit out of sorts.    I decided to shoot my Mother a text as a white flag/need to vent/what to do with this teething baby text at 5:45 a.m.  The text read, “I’m having another rough morning with Cal, can you call me when you get up?” As soon as I sent the text Cal fell asleep and I followed shortly thereafter.  I was abruptly awoken at 6:40 a.m. to the sound of someone trying to open my front door.  “Oh no, he didn’t come out all this way, it can’t be him….” I thought to myself.  I looked down at my phone to see the text that confirmed my suspicion:

Dad- 6:16 a.m. – “I’m on my way to help.”

I later I came to find out he was already in front of the house at that time.  After giving him a quick call and shooting a few texts with no response I assumed he just got an early start to his day and went on to his office.  I fell asleep again and woke up at 8:15 a.m.  CRAP!  We’ve all overslept and now we’re scrambling.  I look at my phone again and see a text from my Dad:

Dad- 8:17 a.m. – “Do you still need help this morning?”

I gave him a call to apologize for that morning when I came to the realization THAT HE WAS STILL OUTSIDE IN HIS CAR. …TWO HOURS LATER.  When I asked why he didn’t call or knock or send another text he said he didn’t want to bother us but just wanted to be there in case we needed help.

That’s my Dad, a man who loves his family more than any other person I know.  I am eternally grateful for his patience and his selflessness.  His heart is as big as any and his pure adoration for his Grandson is not lost on me or anyone he has a conversation with for that matter.  Thanks for loving us with all your heart Dad and always being there for us….right outside our door!  J

