Now that Cal is eating more finger foods, I was looking for a healthy recipe that would be easy for him to eat and I could make a big batch of and freeze for his school lunches.  I had just perfected baby purees but he’s clearly moved on to bigger and better things.    I was recently inspired by one of my favorite baby food websites, Weelicious- www.weelicious.com to make these easy and healthy veggie nuggets for Cal last weekend.

Ingredients:

2 potatoes- peeled and cubed

1 cup of broccoli

2 carrots- diced

1/2 cup of corn- (I just used defrosted frozen corn)

garlic powder

onion powder

pinch of pepper

2 eggs

1 cup whole wheat breadcrumbs

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

Veggies!

Steam potatoes and carrots for 20 minutes.  At the 15 minute mark add the broccoli.  Once your veggies are steamed seperate the potatoes from the rest of the veggies.  Place the poatoes in a medium bowl and place your defrosted corn, broccoli and carrots in the food processor.  Pulse until ingredients are finely diced.

Once veggies are finely diced mash your potatoes by hand.  You do not want to add the potatoes to the food processor because they will turn to a glue-like consistency.

Mash potatoes by hand.

Incorporate the veggies and the potatoes and add garlic and onion powders and pepper.  Fresh garlic and onion would be good too.

Once all your veggies are mixed, lay the veggie spread over a cookie sheet as evenly as possible- about 1/2 inch thick.  Since I used cookie cutters to form the nuggets it helped to pop the cookie sheet in the freezer for about 30 minutes.

Now for the fun part!  In three seperate bowls distribute 2 eggs, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup whole wheat bread crumbs.

Cut out or form your nugget in any shape you choose.  It’s not necessary to use a cookie cutter but I think they are cute!  Dip nugget in the eggs followed by the flour mix and top with breadcrumbs.  This dish makes so many nuggets so I eneded up freezing most of this batch.  When I was ready to use I took out a a few nuggets and broiled them for about 5-7 minutes.

Healthy veggie nuggets!

100 % Calvin approved!

